Wednesday Night Soup: Hot and Sour Soup

It’s cold and flu season–and one of those pesky viruses has caught me. I’ve had a cold for nearly a week now. The person I caught it from still has it too. Whatever it is, it’s persistent. I’ve been making lots of fresh juices, drinking copious amounts of herbal tea and sipping soup. Yesterday I made a spicy chicken vegetable broth. Today I finished off the white bean and tarragon soup I made last week.

If I really wanted to be well, however, I should probably try this Hot and Sour Soup. Some people say that Hot and Sour Soup is the cure for the common cold.

Give it a try and see what you think:

Hot and Sour Soup

In a medium saucepan, saute in 1 Tbsp oil, 5-6 sliced mushrooms, 1 Tbsp fresh ginger and 1 clove garlic, minced. Add 1 tsp-1 Tbsp sriracha (depending on how bold you are!), along with 4 cups vegetable broth, 3 Tbsp soy sauce, and ¼ cup white vinegar. Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Add.3 oz firm tofu, chopped, 4 cups spinach and 1 egg, beaten and drizzled into boiling soup. Chop 2 scallions and sprinkle on top along with a drizzle of sesame oil.

A couple of other notes: I’m going to be in the City of Ithaca, NY this weekend for a reading at Buffalo Street Books on Saturday at 3 p.m. I haven’t been there for more than a year so I am excited to go back. Anything you want to know while I’m there?

Also, if you live in the Kitchener-Waterloo area, you might be interested in a fun Christmas venture I’m part of: KW Stocking Stuffers is something like an online Christmas bazaar where you can order interesting, locally made products for unique Christmas (or anytime) gifts. Among its products is my book, but I also recommend trying the various bone broths, made by a neighbour of mine. Soup is on the rise! Whether you make it yourself or buy it, I hope you will enjoy some today.

Be well!

Leave a Reply

