Wednesday Night Soup: Miso and Greens Soup

The table of contents of Ithaca tells me that this week’s soup is supposed to be Carrot-Dill Soup but to be perfectly honest, I don’t have carrot-dill soup in my recipes. I’m not sure whether that’s because I forgot to make it as one of the recipes (there is another carrot soup) or because I never copied it from my notes. I would go and look for it but my day–no, week; no, month–is a bit intense. That’s December for you. And it’s December on top of promoting a book, and on top of about five weeks of minor illnesses featuring nearly every member of the family.

The soup I am offering you is exactly the one I should make tonight. Because it too is intense in its flavour, and it is full of nutritious goodness. It’s quite unlike any of the other soups. It almost looks swampy but it’s just plain delicious. And intense. Did I mention intensity?

Here’s the recipe, and here’s to holidays on the horizon:

Miso and Greens Soup

Miso is a fermented soybean paste. Some people describe it as a vegetarian bouillon. There are various kinds of miso that range in intensity. Miso loses some of its health properties if it is boiled, so you want to add it late in the game.

Roast 1 whole head of garlic, drizzled with olive oil. Squeeze each clove out into a bowl and mix with chili flakes, ½ inch fresh ginger, chopped, 1 tsp maple syrup, 2 tsp rice vinegar, 1 tsp sesame oil and salt.

Coarsely chop 2 cups kale, 2 cups spinach, ¼ cup of pecans or sunflower seeds. Add garlic mix and 6 cups water and blend well. Heat well until greens are cooked. Stir in 2 Tbsp miso and serve.

Leave a Reply

