Wednesday Night Soup: Pepper Pot Soup

This soup is Daisy’s–and my–Christmas soup. I had heard the name of some of the soups listed in the book before, including this one, but I didn’t go searching for recipes or developing my own until well after the book was completed. It turns out that my idea of a pepper pot soup–a soup with a seasonal dice of red and green peppers in a clear broth–was not what Pepper Pot Soup actually was. In reality, it’s a Jamaican soup, smooth with pureed sweet potatoes and spiced all peppery with Scotch bonnet and other super hot peppers.

Which reminds me of my supper on Saturday night. We drove to Ithaca for a book reading, leaving at the crack of dawn on Saturday and returning after supper on Sunday, just my husband and me. The farmer’s market was going to close by 2 so we went there first when we arrived in the early afternoon. And then we spent the next couple of hours driving around to places that were featured in the book in order to take photos and video (most of which will appear here in the new year!). By four o’clock, the sun was fading and so was I.

We popped in to Wegman’s, an Ithacan institution–a massive grocery store–and I got what I always get there, a plate of Thai food from the food court/deli. Dave got a thin slice of pizza. Then we raced off to catch the fading light at Buttermilk Falls before going downtown to wander around the Commons where there was an ice carving competition underway and all the stores were open late for Christmas shoppers.

We were staying at Taughannock Farms Inn, ten miles outside of town, so we had decided to eat in town, and decided that if the menu at the Moosewood sounded good, we would go there.

It did and we were seated instantly at a cozy, quiet table. Dave was hungry and I wasn’t particularly so he ordered bibimbap and I just ordered a salad and soup. I also ordered a hard cider to drink. It turned out the cider, while alcoholic, was mulled with spices to be seasonal. It was unusual but not bad. The same was true for Dave’s meal. Unfortunately, although I am very fond of hot, spicy food, there was something I strongly disliked about the intense smoky heat of the Chipotle-Sweet Potato-Apple Soup, and after two bites, I gave it to Dave. I suspect I would have liked traditional Pepper Pot Soup more, but maybe it would have been similar.

In any event, here is Daisy’s Pepper Pot Soup. I hope you enjoy it.

In 1 Tbsp olive oil, sauté 3-4 green onions, chopped, and ¼ tsp hot pepper flakes until softened. Add several twists of black pepper, 4 Tbsp soy sauce, 3 cups water and bring to a boil. Toss in 1 green pepper, diced, 1 red pepper, diced, 1 tsp balsamic vinegar and 1 tsp sesame oil and cook until heated through.

This is a nice light but flavourful soup.

Leave a Reply

